May 23, 2019

Thomas A. Schatz, President OCAGW

Earlier today, the Senate Republican Conference voted to ban pork-barrel earmarks permanently. The initiative – introduced and pushed by Sen. Ben Sasse (R-Neb.) – replaces the temporary earmark moratorium passed in 2011 with a permanent ban.

I would like to thank CCAGW’s members and supporters for sending tens of thousands of letters to Congress over the past several years opposing earmarks. Your participation in our Action Alert campaigns was instrumental in this victory!

Earmarking is one of the most wasteful and corruptive practices in congressional history. Rampant earmarking has resulted in members of Congress squandering $344.5 billion in taxpayer funds since 1991 on self-serving, special interest projects like Alaska’s “Bridge to Nowhere,” Iowa’s indoor tropical rain forest, and North Carolina’s teapot museum.

The era of earmarks was also marred by scandals that resulted in jail terms for Reps. Randy “Duke” Cunningham (R-Calif.) and Bob Ney (R-Ohio) and lobbyist Jack Abramoff.

CCAGW has been highlighting the cost of earmarks to taxpayers and our democratic system of government since we released the first Congressional Pig Book in 1991. Today’s vote is a significant victory in the fight to impose fiscal discipline on Washington.

Thank you again for your help in achieving this success!


About kommonsentsjane

Enjoys sports and all kinds of music, especially dance music. Playing the keyboard and piano are favorites. Family and friends are very important.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s